Avril at Romsey

… and Lancefield and Riddells Creek and Mount Macedon

It snowed, it snowed!

After experiencing Europe’s warmest winter in record, I’m now experiencing an extremely cold Australia. The Chair of the Romsey Church Council compared today to a winter in the 1950s. It snowed! It really snowed here.

This morning I finally made it to the Romsey Walking Group, which meets every Tuesday morning and is celebrating its twentieth anniversary this year. I’ve been trying to walk with it ever since I moved to Romsey, but there’s always been something else happening. I couldn’t have chosen a better day to begin. We walked along Black Range Road, off the road to Woodend. As we began the snow began to fall; by the time we finished there was snow on the ground, and on our cars, and all over my coat. I stupidly wasn’t wearing my Swiss coat and boots because they seemed excessive in Australia – I’ll know better next time.

I think I would be less excited about all this snow if I hadn’r recieved a wonderful gift from two members of the Romsey congregation last week: a load of wood. My pot-belly-stove-thing is running hot, heating my kitchen and study. The only trouble is that a real fire is so mesmerising – I keep standing in front of it and staring into the flames. 

On another note altogether: Harry Potter and the Deathly Hallows is released this Saturday. I predict that Snape will redeem himself by a noble death. I also predict that Dumbledore will return in some form or another, either resurrected like Aslan, or “sent back” like Gandalf, or as a benign presence like Obi-Wan Kenobi. When I mentioned to my Professor of New Testament (whom I met in the queue to collect Book Six at Readings) that I couldn’t believe that Dumbledore was gone forever because there were resurrection precedents like these, she said “And Jesus.” Cannot believe I forgot the paradigmatic resurrection, the one that I believe in. And when talking to Rev. Prof. Dorothy Lee, too. 

These photos were taken by Jay Brooks of the Romsey congregation. Check out Australian snow!

In the Macedon Ranges   My little car   It’s snowing!

 

July 17, 2007 - Posted by | Life, etc.

1 Comment »

  1. How Gorgeous!

    One of the surreal things about snow is that it seems to turn everything black and white (like in that first picture).

    I remember driving through the lakes district in Tas a few years ago, the light was a bit dim, the trees all dark and stick-like, and covered in snow, and the road was black (where we could see it) and everything else was covered with white. When we came to a green road sign it just looked wrong and totally out of place in this strange, new monochromatic world.

    Comment by Caro | July 17, 2007 | Reply


Leave a comment