Avril at Romsey

… and Lancefield and Riddells Creek and Mount Macedon

Funerals come in threes

I’m not superstitious about much, but I am about this. I hoped the funeral at the Anglican church yesterday (three in Romsey in seven days) was the third; but a lovely member of the Romsey congregation died on Sunday; his funeral is Thursday; the Romsey Uniting Church will have had three funerals in a fortnight. Then they’d better stop! I am tired and sad and currently really, really not a fan of death.

March 23, 2009 - Posted by | Life, etc.

5 Comments »

  1. I’m beginning to believe you… I’m now onto my second funeral in two weeks, this time in Myrtleford. So if I end up with one in Yackandandah next week, that will cover all three of my churches in my first three weeks.

    Comment by Caro | March 24, 2009 | Reply

  2. Yeah, as I said, I’m not superstitious about much, but I definitely am about funerals in threes! How have your first two gone?

    Comment by avrilhj | March 25, 2009 | Reply

  3. You could try doing what I did at Monash. Uni funerals are never elderly people who have lived a long and full life and die peacefully in their sleep, so a cluster of them is particularly hard. Half way through one year, I simply made a general announcement that no-one else was allowed to die that year and they complied! This would have had nothing to do with the fact that I had already done double the usual number for the year and everything to do with my general authority, of course. 🙂

    Seriously, though, they *are* hard work if you are committed to doing a good job. Hang in there and find a good supply of nice chocolate!

    Comment by Judy | March 26, 2009 | Reply

    • Oh, I am now being very firm with my people. There are two weeks until Easter, and then I’ll have two weeks’ holiday. I’ve told them that they can die in the next four weeks if they wish – but they’ll have to bury themselves. And it would really be better if they just didn’t die!

      (One of the women now makes me a ‘nice-cup-of-tea’ before every funeral. She’s 82, and I’ve told her that she has a good 18 years left in her at least and she’d better stay around for them.)

      Funerals are short services but so exhausting. It’s a wonderful privilege – but after yesterday’s funeral I went home and had an afternoon nap.

      Comment by avrilhj | March 27, 2009 | Reply

  4. The first two went pretty well. A couple of slight logistical problems with the first, but today’s was great. The family were very happy with the send off we gave their mum/sister, and I received lots of positive comments.

    Comment by Caro | March 27, 2009 | Reply


Leave a Reply

