Avril at Romsey

… and Lancefield and Riddells Creek and Mount Macedon

It’s finally really official

So, having had a Service of Recognition in April 2007 when I began my placement at my four congregations; and then an Ordination in October 2008 when I turned into a Rev.; yesterday I was Inducted into those same four congregations and became absolutely, really, finally, officially their minister.

(Don’t ask why the need for three separate services – the Uniting Church is a little insane like that.)

So, have some photos: of me with the Chairperson of the Presbytery who ‘inducted’ me; and me listening intently to something, possibly when they told me to live a life that was “an example” to my people. An example of what, I ask myself!

Oh, and admire the pretty stole which was made for me in the Philippines at the request of the organist of the local Catholic church, who happens to be married to the secretary of one of the Uniting Church congregations. She gave it to me for Christmas and left me gob-smacked.

listening-intentlywith-chairperson-of-presbytery

The funny thing is that the minimum length of time for an Intern placement is three years. All other placements are a minimum of five and a maximum of ten years. So it is possible that I’ll be having a farewell service in April 2010.

January 19, 2009 - Posted by | Ministry |

9 Comments »

  1. congrats avvers!! that is a beautiful stole. very fancy! i can’t believe you’ve been in romsey for so long- time really flies!

    Comment by rosie | January 19, 2009 | Reply

  2. Congratulations! You lovely in that stole.

    Comment by Liah | January 19, 2009 | Reply

  3. I’d forgotten about the induction! Congratulations – and what a seriously fab stole!!

    Comment by PaulW | January 19, 2009 | Reply

  4. Yes, that is certainly one serious stole. Congrats on finally being officially official. 🙂

    Comment by Caro | January 19, 2009 | Reply

  5. That is a gorgeous stole! Here’s hoping that the whole 3 services thingie is over by the time we get through. That’s 6 services between the 2 of us – our families would never stand it! 🙂 Congrats …. FINALLY! 🙂

    Comment by Sandy | January 19, 2009 | Reply

  6. Congratulations – although, as you say, it seems a little over the top, especially since it has taken the church so flipping long to get through the process.

    I love the stole. Red stoles are my favourite and I’m always trying to find ways of justifying wearing mine, seeing it comes around in the church year so very infrequently. Fortunately, most congregations aren’t all that good at liturgical convention, so I can say with confidence “this is a special occasion and we’re bearing witness to the work of the Spirit” and wear my red stole at anniversaries, commemorations, openings, closings and dedications.

    In my first placement, I dedicated memorial stones at the sites of multiple former Methodist churches and celebrated the fifth anniversary of the opening of a new church building, so I managed to wear mine quite a lot, really. 🙂

    Comment by Judy Redman | January 19, 2009 | Reply

  7. you stole the show avers…. congratulations to you.

    Comment by alex | January 23, 2009 | Reply

  8. Whew, it all looks rather hot to me. Is there a mini-skirt cheese-cloth version?

    Comment by Olivia | January 29, 2009 | Reply

  9. hey …you look almost…very nearly…well just a bit…like me on a pentecost/saints and martyrs day…ie; anglican in your red stole and cassock alb!! tho its a ‘high’as well as ‘hot’stole appropriate to the season you are having. We are back in ‘ordinary time’=green… so wearing my uniting churches green today!

    Comment by revd. linda | February 4, 2009 | Reply


Leave a Reply

