Avril at Romsey

… and Lancefield and Riddells Creek and Mount Macedon

Moments like these …

Played with small children this morning. A music program for pre-schoolers uses the church at Riddells Creek weekly; I go down once a fortnight and join in, then play with the children while their parents have coffee together and chat. Every so often a mother will stick her head out the door and ask me whether I’m okay. Usually I’m in middle of playing hide and seek; or having a tea party; or spinning a child round in the air until both the child and I are dizzy.

Sometimes I’m flat on my back with five children sitting on me trying to squash me.

We’re always having a good time.

Today I had a serious conversation with one of the boys. Very shy, he spends most of the music session sitting in his mum’s lap not speaking, but once it’s just me and the other children he chats away quite happily. Today part of the conversation went like this:

Him: (about a character on a television show he watches) She’s a girl!

(His tone is one of disgust.)

Me: Well, I’m a girl too!

Him: (thoughful) And Mummy’s a girl.

(pause for further thought)

Him: That means you don’t have willies.

Is it wrong that it’s moment like these that are the reason I love this job?

And, as requested:

Looking like a minister?

Looking like a minister?

December 2, 2008 - Posted by | Ministry

3 Comments »

  1. It’s slightly off topic, but please allow me to say that the UCA’s pre-school music programme is excellent. I did it for a few years with my daughter at Surrey Hills UCA and she developed confidence in moving to music and had a lot of fun.

    Fortunately, the congregation we’re at encouraged her, allowing her to dance at the front during all the hymns from age 2 1/2. I don’t think they realized she’d still be doing it at 7 with no sign of slowing.

    Having all the pre-schoolers in together and having morning tea afterwards were real strengths of this programme. It meant all the kids could participate and allowed friendships to develop between the mothers (and the odd father).

    Comment by Paul D | December 2, 2008 | Reply

  2. Looking like a minister? — a very cool one!!

    Comment by PaulW | December 2, 2008 | Reply

  3. Love the photo.

    At his 3.5-year old check-up, the maternal & child health nurse asked Danny, “Are you a boy or a girl?” and he patiently replied that he was a boy.
    She went on, “How about Mummy? Is she a boy or a girl?”
    Danny said, “She’s a woman!”

    Comment by Olivia | December 4, 2008 | Reply


Leave a Reply

