Avril at Romsey

… and Lancefield and Riddells Creek and Mount Macedon

Minister’s Morning

I just spent an hour wandering up and down the main street of Romsey asking shops to display ads for our Advent Workshop and the Combined Churches’ Carol Service. Given that I am the world’s shyest introvert and the thought of this had me lying awake last night, I’m going to feel mildly proud of myself. (I didn’t get any knock-backs, either.)

That was after visiting the mother of a two-year-old that we will be baptising in January. It was the first time I’d met her, so I got the usual comments about my age and gender. My family and friends won’t believe this, but as a young female minister I’m cool! What will I do when I’m no longer young and funky?

Arriving home I found a parcel on my doorstep. I am now the proud owner of one Fairtrade clerical shirt. Doesn’t really matter that I’ve only worn a clerical shirt twice in my life; I now have one that tells me that: “The FAIRTRADE Mark on this item ensures small-scale cotton farmers from developing countries a fair and stable price plus the additional Fairtrade Premium which enables them to invest in their farm businesses and communities.”

So, I feel my morning was productive.

November 25, 2008 - Posted by | Ministry

3 Comments »

  1. Photo of said shirt on new owner, please.

    Comment by Olivia | November 25, 2008 | Reply

  2. Worn the shirt yet? What’s it like? And yes, a photo please!

    Comment by PaulW | November 27, 2008 | Reply

  3. ditto foto of u in shirt please. I promise u do get used to wearing them….saves wondering what to wear on bad hair days…
    Wonder if you can get fairtrade cloth as my mum makes my shirts! Wishing you a peaceful and patient Advent-tide

    Comment by revd. linda | November 29, 2008 | Reply


Leave a Reply

