Avril at Romsey

… and Lancefield and Riddells Creek and Mount Macedon

I told you exercise makes me sick!

This is a disgusting story, so don’t read any further if you have a weak stomach.

This morning I went for the gym for the first time since before I got sick. That week and a half without exercising had made a big difference; weights that had been starting to get easy were hideously painful again. But I made it through 45 minutes and headed for home.

On the road between Riddells Creek and Romsey I started to feel sick. Then I felt even sicker. Then I realised that I was about to vomit. There was no shoulder to the road and no safe place for me to pull over. So I tried to control my stomach. It didn’t work.

Disgustingly, my stomach emptied itself of my breakfast, all over me, all over the steering wheel, all over the handbrake, all over the floor at my feet. By the time I found somewhere to park safely my stomach was almost completely empty, but there was enough left in it for a couple of pathetic heaves by the side of the road. None of the cars passing bothered to stop, for which I was profoundly grateful, given that I was literally covered in vomit.

Got home; threw everything I was wearing, including my sneakers, into the washing machine; had a shower; spent half an hour cleaning my car.

See: exercise is evil! It makes me sick!

September 19, 2008 - Posted by | Life, etc.

6 Comments »

  1. Convalescing + weights = spew.

    Hope you’re feeling okay now.

    Comment by Liah | September 19, 2008 | Reply

  2. awww… poor poor you.
    i told you exercise was evil.

    Comment by Veryan | September 20, 2008 | Reply

  3. You’ll have to cease such behaviour once you’re ordained. It’s unseemly.

    You poor love. How ghastly.

    Comment by Olivia | September 21, 2008 | Reply

  4. Sad to hear but exercise does NOT make you sick! In the long run the benefits are far better than the negatives. Blah, blah blah I’m sure you’ve heard the rest, and remember no pain no gain. After a break from exercise it is better to take it easier by doing less than you were before until your body gets used to the increased level of activity, whatever you do don’t stop all together. Throwing up is just a sign that you pushed yourself too hard not that exercise is evil.

    Comment by Pete | September 22, 2008 | Reply

  5. it’s probably your body reacting to the idea of Curves being referred to as a “gym.”

    seriously, how long was the break before this happened? did you cool down or shower?

    Comment by Alex | September 30, 2008 | Reply

  6. Don’t worry about that. Tell everyone about your wonderful ordination service, where you were supported by hundreds of people who love you. Everyone who is ordained should have such a fabulous liturgy.

    Comment by Elizabeth | October 5, 2008 | Reply


Leave a Reply

