Avril at Romsey

… and Lancefield and Riddells Creek and Mount Macedon

You are not going to believe this …

I’m meant to be getting ready to go and serve hot cross buns to people at the local farmers’ market, but I just had to tell you about this first.

Sitting in my lounge room, eating toast, drinking coffee, reading the paper, I hear a strange banging noise coming from outside. Look out, can’t see anything. Go back to reading. Then I hear the sound of something hitting my rubbish bin. Stand up, look out again and see – a KANGAROO. Kangaroo bounces around my car port for a while, before heading back down the driveway and out onto the street.

I’ve had to watch out for kangaroos while driving – but I’ve never had one actually in my garden before. I think my semi-rural town just became officially rural.

March 21, 2008 - Posted by | Life, etc.

4 Comments »

  1. What’s that Skip?…. the minister at Romsey has been eating too much chocolate?… Her rubbish bin was full of chocolate wrappers and she didn’t give any of it to you?

    … so you decided to show her who’s boss by roughing up her car a bit?

    It’s a conspiracy- the fauna’s out to get you! 🙂

    Comment by Caro | March 22, 2008 | Reply

  2. Which reminds me, thanks for the chilli chocolate, Caro. Eating it slowly, one piece every few days, and it’s incredible!

    Comment by Avril | March 22, 2008 | Reply

  3. Yeah, that chilli chocolate is quite impressive- I just love the smooth taste, followed by that exquisite afterburn sensation. 🙂

    Comment by Caro | March 22, 2008 | Reply

  4. Reminds me of the wombat Mothball (‘Diary of a Wombat’ by Jackie French and Bruce Whatley) who bashes up garbage bins to get what she wants. (The US edition of ‘Diary’ describes a wombat as like a bear, only smaller. Which would make a kangaroo like a rabbit, only bigger??)

    Comment by Olivia | March 25, 2008 | Reply


Leave a Reply

