Avril at Romsey

… and Lancefield and Riddells Creek and Mount Macedon

Another first – gardening

Those who know me aren’t going to believe this, but I did so much gardening yesterday that today I have blisters. I trimmed edges and cut back bushes and weeded and mowed and generally behaved in a most un-Avril like manner.

Sadly, all this work in the outdoors didn’t seem to do anything for me spiritually. So many people talk about meeting God in their gardens; I’m still more likely to meet God in a university library.

One problem: I have been completely unable to clean all the dirt out of my fingernails. Task for today: find better fitting gardening gloves.

January 7, 2008 - Posted by | Life, etc.

1 Comment »

  1. hi avril
    how very english/scottish (?)of you to be gardening! A piccy of your manse & garden would be good to publish. Continue the vestment envy as now have white & black cassock & red/green/purple/white stoles! the material from Rome sewed up really well and reminds me of bossey/rome where we were a year ago this week every time I wear them…which will be all through Lent. All love and God bless. Linda

    Comment by linda w | February 5, 2008 | Reply


Leave a Reply

