Avril at Romsey

… and Lancefield and Riddells Creek and Mount Macedon

Happy and tired

I just made an entire room full of kindergarten mothers crack up.

Lancefield Kindergarten AGM; I attended because the kindergarten runs out of the back of the church; I had to introduce myself; I did and provoked much laughter.

One mother said afterwards she was coming to church this Sunday to see if I was as funny there. (Had to break it to her that this Sunday I’m in Riddells Creek and Mount Macedon and she said she’d get my timetable.) Another told me I could add “comedian” to my list of skills.

Kinda pleased, but a little disconcerted, given that I was (mostly) not trying to be funny.

Very, very tired. Two days down of a three day conference in Melbourne. Driving hither and yon. Got home to discover that the Romsey UCAF had left a card in my mailbox for me to write in. It’s to a woman who is dying and they weren’t sure what to write, so they all signed it and left the message up to me.

This job is weird!

And, Olivia, in an automatic car one can tap one’s left foot while driving, as well as drumming on the steering wheel and dancing with one’s head and shoulders. Getting too excited and tapping with one’s right foot is not advised.

November 14, 2007 - Posted by | Ministry

8 Comments »

  1. not to be mean or anything avril, i can think of many WONDEROUS things about you… comedian?? maybe not. i don’t know, maybe you just aren’t funny around me? you missed out on really good dinner last night. nick, bec, fordy, rosie, tim, kat, steve and poppy all ate lots of food and then went to a really pretentious bar. awesome fun! let us know when you’re next going to be in melbourne so we can plan an equallly awesome dinner for you!

    Comment by Rosie | November 14, 2007 | Reply

  2. On the contrary, I can well imagine Avril disarming gentle country folk with her delicious brand of irreverent (irreverend?) humour.

    Comment by Olivia | November 15, 2007 | Reply

  3. You need cruise control. Then you only need to keep one finger still.

    Comment by Paul | November 15, 2007 | Reply

  4. Hey, I think I’m with Rosie – funny is not one of my gifts. Hence my (surprised) happiness that these kindergarten mothers thought that I was.

    Rosie, can you make that list of apparently “wonderous things” about me so I can ask for it next time life is horrible and I’m feeling like a fraud?

    Comment by avrilhj | November 16, 2007 | Reply

  5. I’m sure we all could easily create a list of your ‘wonderous things’, to help you through various dark moments.

    Comment by Pete | November 16, 2007 | Reply

  6. List of apparently “wonderous things” about Avril:

    Just a start: 1-10.

    1. She cares, a lot. About you, about me, about god, whatever.
    2. She doesn’t mind you challenging her beliefs, even when you are a prick about it
    3. She climbed over a table to yell at (another) obnoxious law student, endearing her to me forever.
    4. She helped innumerable students get through the bad times, with chocolate, HCAP and non-judgmental listening
    5. The idea of her dancing in that dinky little car is hilarious
    6. She is incredibly brave.
    7. She is the cheapest drunk you have ever met, or imagined meeting
    8. She is passionate about what she does, and has pursued it in the face of some obscene obstacles (“blood on the floor of the assembly” anyone?)
    9. She is both a fine intellectual (practice making perfect) and a great human being. A rare combination.
    10. She is funny. Not always intentionally, but often enough one way or the other.

    Comment by Alex | November 16, 2007 | Reply

  7. Wow, Alex. That’s made me cry.

    I’d have to disagree with lots of them (obviously not 7 which is sadly true, but 3 – I did NOT climb over a table – I knelt up on a chair. And I had to apologise to obnoxious student twice for inappropriate tutorly behaviour!) but I’m glad you think they’re true.

    Aw, all moved and teary and really unsure what I’ve done to deserve friends like you.

    Comment by avrilhj | November 16, 2007 | Reply

  8. your hands were halfway across the table, to his throat.

    Comment by Alex | November 18, 2007 | Reply


Leave a Reply

