Avril at Romsey

… and Lancefield and Riddells Creek and Mount Macedon

My mother tells me it’s not a rite of passage

So, opened my mail today and found my first ever speeding fine. As speeding fines go it’s fairly minor; I’ve been booked for exceeding the speed limit by less than 10 KM/H in a vehicle other than a large vehicle. One demerit point. Really could have done without the fine, though.

I was booked speeding on my way to Bible Study. I’m finding that pretty amusing. My mother, however, did not see the funny side. Apparently a speeding fine is neither a rite of passage nor something of which to be proud.

Come on! I was booked speeding to a Bible Study! I’m going to be a little proud.

November 7, 2007 - Posted by | Life, etc.

12 Comments »

  1. Umm… so how many months is this that you’ve had your licence?

    (I had my licence for about 20 years before I got my first ticket of any kind… which was a speeding ticket, on my way home from the airport after dropping off the current minister of my home congregation in Hobart, after he had been down to meet with the Joint Nominating committee, although that doesn’t beat speeding to get to a Bible study! 🙂

    Comment by Caro | November 7, 2007 | Reply

  2. If it is a rite of passage, I’ll admit it’s one I’d rather avoid… although those damn 40kph zones on Johnson Street will surely get me one day.

    Comment by Heidi | November 7, 2007 | Reply

  3. Country people die on country roads . . .

    Comment by Olivia | November 7, 2007 | Reply

  4. Country people also die in their sleep.

    Comment by Pete | November 7, 2007 | Reply

  5. Falling asleep at the wheel?

    Comment by Olivia | November 8, 2007 | Reply

  6. And city people die on city roads.
    I suppose I’m saying that the comment has no real meaning. It makes a nice t-shirt slogan but as a deterrent it’s a little glib.
    Don’t speed Avril, Bible study can afford to start late, but not without you.

    Comment by Pete | November 8, 2007 | Reply

  7. I think as a public health message it’s intended to counter complacency. Like the statistic that most accidents happen within 5km of your home. (Accidents involving you, that is.)

    Comment by Olivia | November 8, 2007 | Reply

  8. Tsk Tsk Avril!

    Hey Heidi- you can’t get caught on Johnson street- open secret that the State Govt stuffed up the law- as it’s still 50 in all surrounding streets, they have to prove you turned into the 40 zone AND passed a sign. That’s why there are virtually no speeding tickets handied out from there, why EVERYONE (esp. the taxis) zoom along and why there are no cameras. Not that I’m encouraging you to speed (but hey, if there is bible class…)

    Alexandra parade, now THAT’s dangerous. Cameras all over the place.

    Comment by Alex | November 8, 2007 | Reply

  9. To me the statement makes as much sense as sticking those usless ‘Baby on board’ signs on a car.
    Yes most accidents involving cars happen within 5km of your home but there are better ways to combat complacency.
    Does this also mean that as a city person I can speed on country roads? Or maybe I can be complacent in the country?

    Comment by Pete | November 9, 2007 | Reply

  10. very interesting, but I don’t agree with you
    Idetrorce

    Comment by Idetrorce | December 15, 2007 | Reply

  11. A late entry into this: the slogan was meant to combat the idea that the only people who die on country roads are visitors – that locals can speed with impunity because they know the road. Soooo many country people have told me that they don’t need to obey speed limits/advisory signs because they “know the road”, but country people having fatal accidents on country roads are over-represented in the road statistics.

    Comment by Judy Redman | December 18, 2007 | Reply

  12. And has the slogan changed those statistics and over-representation?

    Comment by Pete | December 21, 2007 | Reply


Leave a Reply

