Avril at Romsey

… and Lancefield and Riddells Creek and Mount Macedon

Kind of cool

One of the things that wordpress lets me do is look at how people ended up at my blog. A lot of them get here from the blogs of friends, so there’s an existing connection of some sort, but sometimes people find their way here in a weirdly random matter.

So, yesterday, someone got to this blog by typing “sermons comparing ourselves to others” in a search engine.

Strange, but I think cool.

Does anyone else out there still use the word “cool” meaning “good, excellent, admirably up to date, stylish” which is one of the many meanings given by the Shorter OED. Very big mid-20th century, the OED tells me.

Speaking of things that are cool, here’s a picture of my most recent Jesus, a gift from Alex.

Yet another ‘Jesus’

November 5, 2007 - Posted by | Life, etc.

5 Comments »

  1. Does anyone else out there still use the word “cool” meaning “good, excellent, admirably up to date, stylish”

    umm… guilty as charged… I use it all the time, and was somewhat surprised when I attended a Gospel Choir concert in Hobart a year or so ago, where the choir leader made the comment that he was the only 40-something year old that he knows who still uses that word. I felt like jumping out of my seat, with my arm raised, and shouting “Me too!”

    Comment by Caro | November 6, 2007 | Reply

  2. Hello! Cool still means that and so much more – now it can mean “yes”, “I agree”, “thanks”, “ok”, “I’m not really sure but why not”, the list goes on!

    And I have to say: Buddy Christ is way cool.
    Have you seen the movie “Dogma”? I guess it’s a case of life imitating art…

    Comment by Heidi | November 8, 2007 | Reply

  3. Okay, it’s really freaky to see someone else using my name to comment. That Heidi isn’t me. Unless I’ve been commenting in my sleep, of course…

    Comment by Heidi | November 9, 2007 | Reply

  4. http://au.youtube.com/watch?v=Ope-1Zb5t-k

    Comment by Alex | November 10, 2007 | Reply

  5. Cool is OK, but on no account use the word “edgy”, as it does not mean anything unless you define what you are on the edge of.

    Comment by Elizabeth | November 12, 2007 | Reply


Leave a Reply

