Avril at Romsey

… and Lancefield and Riddells Creek and Mount Macedon

Just thinking

I guess you know that what you are doing is a vocation when all you want to do on your day off is more of what you do the rest of the week.

Hmm. Could have put that better. One knows that one has a vocation when all one wants to do … nah, that makes me sound all weird and British.

(Not that there’s anything wrong with being British – Elinor M. Brent-Dyer, Monty Python, Doctor Who, Rowan Williams, Stephen Fry and Hugh Lawrie, etc).

Goodness, I must be tired. Absolute ramblings.

Anyway, today was my day off, so I went into Melbourne which I do every two or three weeks, because I may be in Romsey but I’m not necessarily of Romsey and I need that urban ambience. Sheep and goats and horses are pretty, but I need the gritty city.

I celebrated my day off by doing some research for my next three sermons at the Theological Library and meeting an ex-JCH student for some pastoral care over coffee. ‘Cos that’s the sort of thing I like doing.

I also had a haircut, because if the hair around my ears gets longer than 3 mm I get edgy.

And I bought Season Four of Quantum Leap from JB HiFi ‘cos they had it for $24.95. I’ve been watching Season One recently, and indulging in mega-nostalgia. My friend Leonie and I used to watch QL way back in 1992 when we were sharing a flat for six months. It was part of our Saturday night ritual, because we didn’t go out on Saturday night – certified geeks don’t.

There was one episode that had Scott Bakula roaming around shirtless for two-thirds of the episode that made both Leonie and I a wee bit hot and bothered – which is kind of amusing if you know anything about either of our subsequent histories.

No sermon this week because we had a joint service with the Anglicans and the local priest preached. Wonderful – and we had the great problem of running out of the eucharistic elements!

Yeah, really tired. Going to crash on the couch.

November 5, 2007 - Posted by | Life, etc., Ministry, Pop Culture

No comments yet.

Leave a Reply

