Avril at Romsey

… and Lancefield and Riddells Creek and Mount Macedon

Yep, it’s a different culture.

Naomi, who wants me to get married

I just got an email from one of my fellow Bossey-ites, responding to my query about how the Africans were being affected by the floods. It was lovely to hear from her, but I had to laugh at the ending of her message:”Cheer up and pressure the North in every way possible to honor the world and cut down on their industrial activities.”

Yep, trying my best. (By North, Naomi means ‘industrial North’ of which Australia is a part, even though we are geographically South. Some discussion about that in Ecumenical Social Ethics class.) 

And then: “Take care of yourself and get married. Your Sister from Nigeria/Africa, Naomi.”

Nope, not going to get married. I know that I’m 34 and single, but as I kept trying to explain in Bossey, in my culture that’s okay. I’m not seen as a failure (at least, no one’s suggested it to my face) and I’m not going to starve in my old age (I hope) just because I won’t have children. Whole different culture. At least, I hope it is.

October 19, 2007 - Posted by | Life, etc.

3 Comments »

  1. Speaking of your old age — your superannuation must be virtually nil. (Like mine.) You do, however, have a right to social security (UDHR Art. 22 & 25 and ICESCR Art. 9).
    I hope my parents are not expecting me to support them in their old age . . .

    Comment by Olivia | October 19, 2007 | Reply

  2. Not sure social security is big in Nigeria. I think having children is seen as a more likely provision of security in old age.

    But you should be safe in Australia.

    Comment by avrilhj | October 20, 2007 | Reply

  3. I would like to see a continuation of the topic

    Comment by Maximus | December 20, 2007 | Reply


Leave a Reply

