Avril at Romsey

… and Lancefield and Riddells Creek and Mount Macedon

Well – duh! From the ABC website

Chocolate a sweet fix for depression

An Australian study has found that chocolate can help alleviate symptoms of depression and anxiety in people with certain personality types.

Nearly 3,000 people with clinical depression took part in a study of which the average age was 40 and 70 per cent were women.

Professor Gordon Parker from the Black Dog Institute says chocolate appeared to have a calming effect in people who were more likely to be irritable and sensitive to rejection.

It improved the moods of people who saw themselves as ‘worriers’ and ‘self critical’ but did not seem to benefit those personalities classified as extroverts or perfectionists.

October 2, 2007 - Posted by | Life, etc.

6 Comments »

  1. What I want to know is, what’s the effect if one is a self-critical perfectionist? Perhaps one is only partially calmed.

    Comment by Heidi | October 2, 2007 | Reply

  2. I was just about to ask the same thing…

    Comment by Cat | October 2, 2007 | Reply

  3. What I’m wondering is how one can be self-critical if one is not a perfectionist. I am self-critical because at some weird subconscious level I seem to believe that I should succeed at everything and that while the rest of the world can be forgiven for mistakes I alone must be perfect. The usual messiah complex – I’m working on it. But if I didn’t feel the need to be perfect, what would I criticise myself about?

    Comment by Avril | October 3, 2007 | Reply

  4. Oh, I think you can be self-critical and recognise that you have done things less than perfectly without necessarily believing that you should do them perfectly, just better. It is not, however, possible to be a perfectionist without being self-critical. At least IMHO. Or should that be IMNSHO. 🙂

    Comment by Judy Redman | October 3, 2007 | Reply

  5. My God, can I just send you each a box of choccies?

    Comment by Paul Walton | October 4, 2007 | Reply

  6. Paul, of course you can. Chocolate for Heidi and Cat and Judy and Avril! I can give you all our addresses.

    But sreiously, we are all intelligent, gifted UCA women and we can all identify with being overly self-critical. Might be a problem in our preaching.

    Comment by Avril | October 8, 2007 | Reply


Leave a Reply

