Avril at Romsey

… and Lancefield and Riddells Creek and Mount Macedon

In the Media

Well, I’ve made it into a local paper again. But this time, rather than being on the front page, I’m on page 22 (of 24) which I feel is more my level.

Article in the Gisborne Gazette

Did anyone sign up for the Australian Christian Lobby’s evening with the Prime Minister and the Opposition Leader? I’m hoping that the media is misrepresenting what was said, because from the snippets I’ve heard and read “Christian values” seem to have been completely confused with “conservative family values,” even by Rudd the self-confessed admirer of Bonhoeffer. How anyone could sit through the lectionary readings from Luke and the prophets that we’ve been having over the past few weeks and even imagine that wealth (as opposed to sufficiency) is a good thing is beyond me. And yet Howard seems again to have droned on about the need for a strong economy as a Christian value!

August 9, 2007 - Posted by | Ministry

2 Comments »

  1. Howard was quoted on Lateline saying that The Parable of the Talents was the Free Enterprise Parable. It’s one of the few that he can attempt to hold on to, to defend his position.

    He’s wrong, of course.

    A few months ago I ventured out of the pews at Ringwood Uniting to preach a sermon about this parable. I’ve now put up on my blog.

    I don’t know how you come up with something to say every week. This took me weeks to prepare in my spare time. I think maybe one sermon a year is plenty.

    Comment by Paul | August 10, 2007 | Reply

  2. I’ve been searching online for more info or video from the event as it relates in some ways to the work my year 12 students are doing at the moment. I suspect that what has been reported was not a misprepresenatation of what was said. There may be a transcript on the ACL (Australian Christian Lobby) website.

    Comment by Nicole | August 10, 2007 | Reply


Leave a Reply

