Avril at Romsey

… and Lancefield and Riddells Creek and Mount Macedon

One of those days

You know those days when you really just shouldn’t get out of bed? Today, I had one of them.

It began when I woke up feeling dreadful. I’m not sure whether it was the run yesterday afternoon or the Elders’ meeting last night, but something had left me stiff and aching. It took me forever to force myself to roll out of bed, so I got up about an hour later than I had planned.

I’m trying to be disciplined about my prayer life, and start every day with the Northumbrian Community’s order for Morning Prayer. So (after making up the fire – very Celtic in itself) I sat down to pray, even though I felt that there were thousands of other things that I should have been doing – sermon to write, phone calls to make, emails to send, and so on and so forth. I was feeling so tense that it took me a good five minutes to calm down and convince myself that I wasn’t wasting time in praying that I could be spending doing something more productive. I ended up having to be very firm with myself (You’re a minister – communicating with God is not a waste of time!) before I could relax enough to begin.  

The day got slightly better after that – until I headed off to Sunshine. On Sunday various members of the Romsey, Lancefield, Riddells Creek and Mount Macedon congregations will be going to a screening of Amazing Grace, following the screening with a discussion of modern slavery over coffee and cakes. So, I wanted to find the Village Cinemas in Sunshine and test how long it takes to get there; buy 20 tickets for the screening; and find somewhere for 20 people to discuss slavery in comfort. (Is that an ironic contradiction?)

Fine – except I’ve never driven from Romsey to Sunshine before. Going by public transport would have been easy – train into the city, train out to Sunshine. Driving meant crossing the suburbs. It involved travelling on the Western Ring Road, of all hideous things. And the copy of the Melways in my car is the one I bought when I first moved out of home in 1995. In it the Western Ring Road is marked like this – – – – – – – to show it’s “under construction” with “completion due Mid 1995”. So, using this incredibly out-of-date map I got well and truly lost.

I can now say with complete confidence that it takes one and a quarter hours to get from Romsey to Sunshine – if you go via Glenroy and Keilor.  Sure, it’s not the most direct route and it involves quite a few u-turns, but it gets you there in the end.

And it takes an hour to get from Sunshine back to Romsey, if you forget to turn into the Western Ring Road from McIntyre Road and instead continue on the Sunshine Ave towards Taylors Lakes.

Yeah, it was one of those days.

August 2, 2007 - Posted by | Life, etc.

2 Comments »

  1. I think we’ve all been having those days this week Avvers, of course, instead of having to convince myself that praying is a waste of time, I have to convince myself that calling lost super members back is not a waste of time!!

    Speaking of super… i’m heading to the churches superannuation conference in a couple of weeks? are you with uniting super??

    Comment by Rosie | August 3, 2007 | Reply

  2. http://www.whereis.com.au includes routes, estimated travel times, provision for stopovers, avoiding tolls, maps for visually literate, and line by line written instructions for the graphically challenged. trust me on this.

    Comment by Nicole | August 3, 2007 | Reply


Leave a Reply

