Avril at Romsey

… and Lancefield and Riddells Creek and Mount Macedon

Moving into Romsey

The manse for Romsey-Lancefield-Riddells Creek-Mount Macedon is in Romsey, a town with a population at the 2001 census of 2944 people. (I presume it has grown in the past six years, but I haven’t found the 2006 census figures yet. If anyone out there knows …) Janet Clarke Hall had a population of about 100. Romsey is much bigger than Janet Clarke Hall. The University of Melbourne has approximately 40,000 students and 6,000 staff. Romsey is much smaller than the University of Melbourne.

I discovered what this difference in scale meant when I was interviewed by the editor of The Free Press, one of the three local newspapers I recieve. Bill West and I had a good chat in which I told him a bit about myself and he told me a bit about himself and this area. He took a couple of photos of me, and told me that the article would appear in the next week’s edition. Even so, I was gob-smacked when I picked up the paper in the local supermarket and found that my move to Romsey was considered front-page news. I was never considered front-page news at the University of Melbourne. Once or twice I made page 5 of the uni news if I was giving a paper, but never with a headline or a photo attached. Actually, the lack of photo was probably a benefit.

Anyway, check this out. I’m famous!

Front Page News

June 14, 2007 - Posted by | Ministry

3 Comments »

  1. Avvers,

    Good to see you back on the intraweb thing-y-ma-jig (I here it does good things).

    Front page… I’m impressed. Can;t wait to come and have a weekend in Romsey with you!! Will I have to go to church on the Sunday morning?

    I have a new badge which I think you would like that says “Look busy, Jesus is coming”. Pretty sweet huh?

    Keep up the blog, it’ll be interesting. Lord knows, I’d write one but who cares about your first year working in superannuation?

    lots of love….

    Comment by Rosie | June 14, 2007 | Reply

  2. That’s the benefits of a free press, I guess. What does he say about you in those four huge columns?

    Comment by Olivia | June 14, 2007 | Reply

  3. The first 2006 Census data is now out. According to this, Romsey had a population of 4,490, so yes, it has grown. Incidentally, 335 of them say they belong to the Uniting Church. 🙂

    Go to:

    http://www.abs.gov.au/websitedbs/d3310114.nsf/home/Census%20data

    Comment by judyredman | July 3, 2007 | Reply


Leave a Reply

