Avril at Romsey

… and Lancefield and Riddells Creek and Mount Macedon

Counting Down to Christmas – Part Two

Christmas isn’t yet here, but most of my work has been done. Last weekend was probably the heaviest: Riddells Creek Carols by Candlelight on Friday night; Lancefield Farmers’ Market on Saturday; three services (two in the morning; Blue Christmas in the evening) on Sunday. Then on Monday I suddenly realised that I was tired and had an afternoon nap.

(The Carols by Candlelight on Friday night were so cold! I had intended temporarily wearing my black Santa hat with “Bah humbug” on it as a joke and taking it off once the Carols started. But it was so bloody cold that I ended up wearing it all night to cover my ears and keep my head warm. Then the next day I got sun burnt at the Farmers’ Marker because my little brain couldn’t comprehend going from being frozen to being burnt overnight.)

Now I’ve got a pre-Christmas adrenalin surge. I woke up this morning before my alarm went off at 6 am and did an hour’s gardening before I started work. I’ve got both my liturgies for Christmas Day organised – all I need to do is copy the Order of Service for Mount Macedon. So all I have left to do is write the Christmas Day sermon. The trouble is that I just want to repeat what I said last year on Christmas Day: we celebrate the birth of Jesus because of what happened next; the story doesn’t end here. Can I assume that people didn’t really listen last year and I can repeat myself?

Four services to go – two on Christmas Eve; two on Christmas morning. Then an afternoon watching Doctor Who on the couch!

December 23, 2008 - Posted by | Life, etc., Ministry | , ,

2 Comments »

  1. At our Christmas celebrations at church on Sunday night I kept thinking, “this doesn’t make much sense unless it’s put in the context of Jesus’ life. That’s what should be said.” Looks like you already have. Probably worth repeating.

    Comment by Paul | December 23, 2008 | Reply

  2. Can I assume that people didn’t really listen last year and I can repeat myself?

    Yes. And yes.

    The time will come when for your own sake you need to take another approach, but while this one is keeping you fresh, go for it.

    Comment by PaulW | December 23, 2008 | Reply


Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 277 other followers

